Watson Completes Staff with Preach, Rynd

Home Arkansas Watson Completes Staff with Preach, Rynd
Watson Completes Staff with Preach, Rynd


Posted on August 8, 2016

Article by Zach Lawson with the University of Arkansas

FAYETTEVILLE, Arkansas – Razorback volleyball head coach Jason Watson has announced the additions of Stephanie Preach and Andy Rynd to the program’s support staff. Preach will serve as Arkansas’ director of operations while Rynd comes to Fayetteville as the team’s volunteer assistant coach. The Razorbacks report to campus Monday, marking the beginning of preseason camp.

In her most recent role, Preach served as the on-campus recruiting coordinator for the Arizona State football program for the past two years. Among her several responsibilities, she assisted in coordinator recruiting events, oversaw recruiting budgets and managed a group of student employees within the department. Preach has additional experience with player development and mentor programs and was head coach of the Arizona Storm Volleyball Club.

The Phoenix, Arizona, native was a four-year letterwinner (2010-13) during her playing career at Arizona State, where she played under Watson’s direction. Preach finished her time in an ASU jersey with 2,010 career digs, the No. 2 mark in school history. As a team captain, she helped the team to two NCAA Tournament selections (2012, 2013) and was the 2014 female recipient of the Pac-12 Tom Hansen Medal of Honor.

Rynd comes to Fayetteville after one season as the director of operations for the Bowling Green State University volleyball team. He spent the 2014 campaign as the program’s volunteer assistant coach in addition to serving as an intern with the strength and conditioning staff. In addition to training and on-court coaching, Rynd will be handling the Razorbacks’ scouting film and video exchange.

Along with Watson and Rynd, Arkansas’ staff includes associate head coach Jon Newman-Gonchar in his first season and assistant coach Sarah Rumely who is set to begin her second season with the team. On the court, the Razorbacks return 10 letterwinners from last year including its seven-member senior class of Barbara Dapic, Danielle Harbin, Breana Jones, Ana Sofia Jusino, Pilar Victoria, Savannah Voelzke and Adrien Wohlschlaeger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.